My Photo

Welcome to Mannionville

  • Politics, art, movies, television, books, parenting, home repair, caffeine addiction---you name it, we blog it. Since 2004. Call for free estimate.

The Tip Jar


  • Please help keep this blog running strong with your donation

Help Save the Post Office: My snail mail address

  • Lance Mannion
    109 Third St.
    Wallkill, NY 12589
    USA

Save a Blogger From Begging...Buy Stuff


The one, the only

Sister Site

« Telegraph Hill Landslide | Main | Invincible »

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Mike Schilling

Streep also sang in Postcards from the Edge, and it was amazing. That lady has some pipes.

Kit Stolz

Wonderful story. Kennedy and Streep, class acts both.

Linkmeister

She sang in A Prairie Home Companion, too.

Sunny Jim

How neat that you pay tribute to Kennedy and Ironweed! I found enough copies of the book to use in my high school classroom, to demonstrate to students Kennedy's masterful use of interwoven storylines, multiple themes, symbolism and flashbacks. Even though the novel's use of four-letter dialogue, and the movie's frontal nudity and car-sex scenes would never have passed the district's curriculum censors, I quietly used them in class anyhow (rather than have arguments) and bounced between the book and the film. Students responded overwhelmingly! With the portrayal of homelessness done so well, with Nicholson's haunted, family-abandoned past stalking him in the form of ghosts, with Streep's total abandonment into her role, and with a Pulitzer Prize storyteller of Kennedy's skill, what's not to like?

Jim Tourtelott

A terrific story, Lance, but you didn't mention one of my favorite Kennedy novels, Roscoe, a political novel in the tradition of The Gay Place, The Last Hurrah, and All the King's Men. It contains, among other things, the best rationale for polling the graveyards I've ever read--(this is from memory, so it may be slightly off) "Those people were Democrats all their lives. Being dead didn't turn them into Republicans."

onemonkey

the blonde and me!

The comments to this entry are closed.

Data Analysis

  • Data Analysis

Categories

April 2021

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  

Movies, Music, Books, Kindles, and more

For All Your Laundry Needs

In Case of Typepad Emergency Break Glass

Be Smart, Buy Books


Blog powered by Typepad