The one, the only

Sister Site

« Telegraph Hill Landslide | Main | Invincible »

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d83451be5969e200d834640a3369e2

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Take 18:

» Streep in "that scene" in Ironweed from The Sheila Variations
I remember when that movie first came out - I hadn't seen it yet, but Mitchell had - and he said to me, "There is a reason why everybody is talking about that scene ... It was annoying to... [Read More]

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Mike Schilling

Streep also sang in Postcards from the Edge, and it was amazing. That lady has some pipes.

Kit Stolz

Wonderful story. Kennedy and Streep, class acts both.

Linkmeister

She sang in A Prairie Home Companion, too.

Sunny Jim

How neat that you pay tribute to Kennedy and Ironweed! I found enough copies of the book to use in my high school classroom, to demonstrate to students Kennedy's masterful use of interwoven storylines, multiple themes, symbolism and flashbacks. Even though the novel's use of four-letter dialogue, and the movie's frontal nudity and car-sex scenes would never have passed the district's curriculum censors, I quietly used them in class anyhow (rather than have arguments) and bounced between the book and the film. Students responded overwhelmingly! With the portrayal of homelessness done so well, with Nicholson's haunted, family-abandoned past stalking him in the form of ghosts, with Streep's total abandonment into her role, and with a Pulitzer Prize storyteller of Kennedy's skill, what's not to like?

Jim Tourtelott

A terrific story, Lance, but you didn't mention one of my favorite Kennedy novels, Roscoe, a political novel in the tradition of The Gay Place, The Last Hurrah, and All the King's Men. It contains, among other things, the best rationale for polling the graveyards I've ever read--(this is from memory, so it may be slightly off) "Those people were Democrats all their lives. Being dead didn't turn them into Republicans."

onemonkey

the blonde and me!

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Data Analysis

  • Data Analysis
My Photo

The Tip Jar


  • Please help keep this blog running strong with your donation or subscription
  • Contact by Snail Mail
    Lance Mannion
    PO Box 732
    New Paltz, NY 12561
    USA



Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter

    Be Smart, Buy Books


    Movies, Music, Books, Kindles, and more

    Categories

    November 2014

    Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
                1
    2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    9 10 11 12 13 14 15
    16 17 18 19 20 21 22
    23 24 25 26 27 28 29
    30            

    For All Your Laundry Needs

    Blog powered by Typepad

    In Case of Typepad Emergency Break Glass